Feb 12, 2016
The Fralin Museum of Art

Now in its 29th year, Writer’s Eye is The Fralin’s annual literary competition that challenges writers of all ages, from 3rd grade through adults, to use visual art as inspiration for the creation of original poetry and prose. Between September 8 and November 13, 2015, more than 3800 students in grades 3-12 toured the Museum for Writer’s Eye, as well as more than 400 adults from the University and the community. We received 1821 entries in all categories, an increase of nearly 8% over last year.

The annual Writer’s Eye Awards Ceremony will be held from 3–5 pm on May 1, 2016, at the Newcomb Hall Ballroom. First place contestants will read their entries. Second Place, Third Place, and honorable mention recipients will also be acknowledged. The ceremony is free and open to the public as well as to the families, friends, teachers, and school principals of the Writer’s Eye winners. The annual Writer’s Eye anthology will be released at this time.

We are pleased to announce the winners of Writer’s Eye 2015:

Elementary School Grades 3-5
Gabriella Hanson, A.R. Ware Elementary School
2nd Phoebe Rebhorn, Paul H. Cale Elementary School
3rd Ben Brockmeier, Virginia L. Murray Elementary School
Honorable Mention:
Klarisa Amos, Brownsville Elementary School
Jordan Atwell-Purcell, Broadus Wood Elementary School
Anthony Medina, Jackson-Via Elementary School
1st Chloe Vail, Peabody School
2nd Pietro Ciliberto, Venable Elementary School
3rd Samantha Capehart, Homeschool
Honorable Mention:
Megan Heuschel, Hollymead Elementary School
Weining Ding, Hollymead Elementary School
Kaiya Francis, North Branch School
Lauren Waskey, Hollymead Elementary School

Middle School Grades 6-8
Eleanor Brown, Buford Middle School
2nd Max Ritterband, Leslie H. Walton Middle School
3rd Meridyth Fowley, Leslie H. Walton Middle School
Honorable Mention:
Margaret Folger, Buford Middle School
Maria Plantz, Leslie H. Walton Middle School
Alexis McGregor, William Monroe Middle School
1st Kyri Antholis, Village School
2nd Ella Harrigan, Buford Middle School
3rd Cecilia Smith, Village School
Honorable Mention:
Hannah Slayton, Jackson P. Burley Middle School
Blythe Brewster, Grymes Memorial School
Elise Rebellato, Jackson P. Burley Middle School

High School Grades 9-12
1st Sabryn Dotson, Albemarle High School
2nd Marcus Poisel, Madison County High School
3rd Olivia Young, Madison County High School
Honorable Mention:
Shannon Yu, Woodberry Forest School
Baylina Pu, Albemarle High School
Owen Inge, Western Albemarle High School
Ryan Sukovich, Western Albemarle High School
1st Kayleigh McCoy, Albemarle High School
2nd Anna McLean, Western Albemarle High School
3rd Timothy DeSimone, Western Albemarle High School
Honorable Mention:
Thomas Clifford Rowland IV, Woodberry Forest School
Brynn Jefferson, Western Albemarle High School
Catherine Adams, Western Albemarle High School
William McAdams, Woodberry Forest School


1st Margaret Whalen, University of Virginia
2nd Will Brewbaker, University of Virginia
3rd Sarah Snow, University of Virginia
Honorable Mentions:
Aline Mullen, University of Virginia
Millie Carson
Sara Robinson
1st Claudia Heath, University of Virginia
2nd Taylor Harris
3rd Alex Jones, University of Virginia
Honorable Mention
Karen Zvarych
Olivia Cannell, University of Virginia
Charlotte Wood
Laura Young, University of Virginia