Join a group of UVA Arts supporters, bringing arts to the forefront of the student experience and University community.

UVA Arts Council LogoMission

The Arts Council provides advocacy and support for current and increased programming in the arts at the University of Virginia. The Council supports projects that develop and strengthen the bonds of interest and participation among departments and programs across Grounds, fostering opportunities for creative innovation, learning, and engagement. Members of UVA’s Arts Council believe that a strong, robust arts community at UVA enriches the student experience, builds bridges in our larger community, and inspires leaders of the next generation.


The Arts Council works on Grounds, in the Charlottesville community, and beyond to promote the impact of the arts at the University. We empower Arts Council members with the tools and information to bring in new members, support, and expertise that will support the future of the arts at UVA.


A $2,500 annual contribution to the Annual Fund for the Arts is an expectation of Arts Council membership** over and above gifts to other programs at the University to which Arts Council members already contribute. Each Arts Council member is strongly encouraged to make a leadership gift in support of an endowment in the Arts, and/or arts-related capital projects and programs.

**Annual donations of less than $2,500 are acceptable for graduates within 15 years, working artists, community arts representatives, and any member with particular circumstances that may prevent a gift of $2,500. Members giving below $2,500 are still expected to make a financial contribution to the Annual Fund for the Arts appropriate to their ability.

Make Your Contribution!

We've made it easier than ever to support the Arts Council and make your annual contribution...

UVA Dancers

Awarded Arts Council Grants

Learn more about the Arts Council grants that have been awarded.

2022 UVA Arts Council Distinguished Artist Awardees (Left to Right: Jody Kielbasa, Evelyn Garey, Sara Burtner, Michelle Tran, KJ Vaughan, Elie Bashkow, & Ian Baucom)

UVA Arts Council Distinguished Artists

UVA Arts Council Distinguished Artists: Annual Award to Celebrate an Undergraduate’s Achievement in the Arts.

Call for Proposals!!

The Grants Committee statement of values promotes the Arts Council’s Mission and Goals and expresses the general criteria and priorities that guide its grants decisions: Innovation | High Impact | Focus on Undergraduate Experience | Provide Multiple Formats or Levels of Impact | Outside influences | High Visibility at UVA | High Visibility Beyond UVA!

In the News


The Council seeks to develop a diverse group of individuals experienced with the University’s unique and complex arts environment and who share a vision for the future of the Arts at UVA. Members meet twice annually in Charlottesville to review grant proposals that address immediate needs and projects, meet with arts students and faculty, and envision a brighter future for the Arts. We have an energetic, passionate, and generous group of members and we’d love to speak with your more about this opportunity if you are interested. Please reach out to Lizzy Ramey,, if you’d like to learn more!

Current Members

David Addis (College ’75, ’82)

Lelia Graham Webb (College ’88)

Christine Moore (Engineering ’92)

Student Members
Chris Lin (College ’24)
Max Tankersley (College ’24)

Christopher Bierly (Commerce '86)
John Birdsall III (College '66)
Mary Scott Birdsall (Education '66)
Alexis Borucke (Parent '23)
A. Cary Brown (College '84)
Michael Caplin (Law '76)
Edith S. Champ
Scheline Crutchfield (College '86)
Lee Ellen Darden (College '09)
Courtney Schaefer Deveau (College '11)
Christine Miller Droessler (College '04)
Joe Erdman (College '56)
Amrie Grammer (College '89)
Colleen Grant (Parent '18)
Jessica Harris (College '19)
Lindsey Hepler (College '09)
Elise Herget (College '12)
Rebecca Lieser, MD (College '74)
Alexander Lindsey (College '76)
Timothy Michel (Architecture '76)
J. Sanford Miller (College '71)
Dennis Moyer (College '74)
Thomas Osborne (College '87)
Bella Dave Patnaik, MD (College '93)
Virginia Carrington Plummer (College '90)
Reece Mealy Rahilly (College '11)
Joanne Robinson
Karen Ryan (College '92)
Marcie M. Slaughter (Parent '08)
Stephen Smiley (College '71)
Lucy Clare Spooner (College '14)
Annie Ward Stern (Education '69)
Lindsay Friedman Sword (College '07)
Gretchen Tibbits (College '89)
Ashbrooke Tullis (College '89)
Laura Turner (Commerce '79)
Serra Yavuz (Parent '22)
Melissa Young (Law '83)

To learn more, contact Cameron Mowat, Director of University Arts Development.